Posted on

TAKE ACTION: Hearing Set for Bill to Turn Off NSA Water in Utah

A bill that would set the stage for turning off the water at the NSA datacenter facility in Bluffdale, Utah will get a public hearing this month, and your action can help move the legislation forward.

Rep. Marc Roberts introduced the Utah Fourth Amendment Protection Act (HB0161) during the 2014 legislative session. The bill would ban the state and its political subdivisions from providing material support or resources to federal agencies engaged in mass warrantless surveillance programs. This would include the up to 1.7 million gallons of water per day being supplied to the datacenter by the city of Bluffdale.

If this bill passes, it will set the stage to turn of the water.

The legislation would also end partnerships between the NSA and public universities in Utah, and ban any other state support of or cooperation with, warrantless spying.

Last March, a Utah House committee considered the Fourth Amendment Protection Act and voted to keep the issue open by sending the bill to interim study. That action carried the bill over to the 2015 session. As part of the process, the House must conducted at least one open hearing, allowing the public and legislators to fully discuss the legislation, and find the path forward when the House convenes its next session in January, 2015.

That hearing has been scheduled for Nov. 19, in the Public Utilities and Technology Committee. The hearing time is set for 2:30 p.m. MST in Room 450 State Capitol.

If you live in Utah and can make it to Salt Lake City for the hearing, it is vitally important that we fill the chamber with people supporting the Fourth Amendment Protection Act. Please make plans to attend the hearing and spread this information widely.

Also, emails to the committee members from Utah residents expressing support for the bill will prove extremely valuable. Following is a list of committee members and their email addresses.

Sen. David P. Hinkins, Senate Chair – [email protected]

Rep. Roger E. Barrus, House Chair – [email protected]

Sen. Gene Davis – [email protected]

Sen. Peter C. Knudson – [email protected]

Sen. Ralph Okerlund – [email protected]

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson – [email protected]

Rep. Stephen G. Handy – [email protected]

Rep. Lynn N. Hemingway – [email protected]

Rep. John Knotwell – [email protected]

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson – [email protected]

Rep. Curtis Oda – [email protected]

Rep. Angela Romero – [email protected]

Rep. Robert M. Spendlove – [email protected]

Rep. John R. Westwood – [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.